Sundowns win Quarter 3 and 4

Newly-crowned Absa Premiership champions, Mamelodi Sundowns were this week confirmed as winners of the Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter 3 and 4.

Mamelodi Sundowns will be awarded with R3 million prize money (R1, 5 million for each Quarter) by the PSL. Their 3-0 victory over neighbours, SuperSport United sealed their Q4 status.  This was the same night when they were declared winners of the 2013/14 Absa Premiership season.

Sundowns are top of Absa Premiership Q4 log with 18 points from 6 games. They are followed by Bloemfontein Celtic with 12 points and Kaizer Chiefs with 11 points respectively with only one game remaining.

Mamelodi Sundowns also won Quarter Three with 18 points. MP Black Aces and Bidvest Wits finished second and third respectively with 16 points each.

PSL CEO, Brand de Villiers said Sundowns were rewarded for consistency: “In football, consistency matters and Mamelodi Sundowns is testament to that. Sundowns have been outstanding this season and little wonder they are now receiving all these accolades.”

De Villiers said the Q-Innovation concept has once again proved to be a resounding success during the 2013/14 Absa Premiership season. “We believe that the Q-Innovation has fulfilled its purpose and I would like to thank chairman, Dr Irvin Khoza for his foresight in introducing the Q-Innovation. Mamelodi Sundowns have set the bar this season and I think this can only be good for the PSL. We want a competitive league and this is what we got during the 2013/14 season,” the PSL CEO said.

Q-Innovation Facts:

Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 1, 3 and 4 this season

Kaizer Chiefs won Quarter Two with 18 points.

The Prize money is R1, 5 million for a Quarter Winner.

Since the introduction of the Q-Innovation last season (2012/13), both Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns have won the most number of quarters – Three (3) quarters each.