Senong off to FIFA u20 WC draw in South Korea

The South African u20 Men’s National Team (Amajita) has safely returned from Zambia where they took part in the 2017 CAF u20 Africa Cup of Nations tournament. The event came to an end on Sunday, 12 March.

Amajita finished fourth after falling to Guinea 2-1 in the 3rd / 4th place play off at Heroes National Stadium in Lusaka.

Despite failing to win any medal, South Africa qualified for the 2017 FIFA u20 World Cup, which will be played between 20 May and 11 June 2017 in South Korea.

They also walked away with the Fair Play Award.

Striker Luther Singh bagged the Top Goalscorer Award following his four strikes and two assists. Singh was level with Edward Chilufya and Patson Daka in terms of goals scored, but he won the award thanks to the goals that he created.

Singh was selected among the Best XI of the tournament, while compatriots Grant Margemen and Liam Jordan found a place on the bench.

With the World Cup tournament around the corner, there is no rest time for head coach Thabo Senong.

This evening (Monday, 13 March 2017) he is off to the draw in South Korea, and will be accompanied by Team Manager Levy Ramajoe.

The draw will be held on Wednesday, 15 March 2017 at the Suwon Artrium in Suwon, South Korea.

The draw will be followed by a team workshop as well inspection visits to venues where teams will be drawn to play. The duo is back in the country on Saturday, 18 March.

Two Argentine players who have won the FIFA U-20 World Cup, Diego Maradona and Pablo Aimar, will participate in the draw.

The 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup will be the 21st edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

A total of 23 teams have qualified for the final tournament, while South Korea come in a hosts to make 24 up nations in total. All six Confederations are represented.

NB: The top two teams of each group and the four best third-placed teams advance to the round of 16

Here are the qualified teams:

AFC: Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam (first appearance**)
CAF: Guinea, Senegal, South Africa, Zambia
CONCACAF: Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA
CONMEBOL: Argentina, Ecuador, Uruguay, Venezuela
OFC: New Zealand, Vanuatu (first appearance**)
EUFA: England, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal