#PSLAwards19 Nominees announced in Durban

Mamelodi Sundowns duo Hlompho Kekana and Themba Zwane will be up against Orlando Pirates’ Thembinkosi Lorch for the ultimate prize of 2018/19 PSL Footballer of the Season on Sunday night, 19 May 2019 during the #PSLAwards19.

The Premier Soccer League announced the full list of nominees on Monday morning, 13 May 2019 at the venue that will host the awards, Durban ICC.

The Footballer of the Season is voted by the 16 coaches in the Absa Premiership only.

The trio will also square up against each other in two other categories: They have been nominated by their peers for the 2018/19 Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season Award and also for the Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season.

In the category of the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season, Cape Town City’s Benni McCarthy joins last season’s two nominees Orlando Pirates Milutin Sredojevic and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Pitso Mosimane.

In the Absa Premiership Young Player category, SuperSport United’s Teboho Mokoena has been nominated together with Cape Town City’s Gift Links and Bongani Sam from Bloemfontein Celtic.

In the MTN8 category, two Cape Town City players; Thabo Nodada and Peter Leeuwenburgh have been nominated with Bradley Grobler from SuperSport United.

Baroka FC appear twice in the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament category with goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze and captain Mduduzi Mdantsane. They are nominated with Orlando Pirate’s Lorch.

The Nedbank Cup category is dominated by both TS Galaxy and Kaizer Chiefs. TS Galaxy’s Zakhele Lepasa has two nominations: Most Promising Player and Player of the Tournament. In the Most Promising Player category, he is joined by teammate Terrence Mashego and Kaizer Chiefs defender Siphesakhe Ntiya-ntiya.

For the Nedbank Cup Player of the Season, the other two players are Bernard Parker and Khama Billiat of Kaizer Chiefs.


PSL Footballer of the Season

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch  (Orlando Pirates)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Goalkeeper of the Season

Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defender of the Season

Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

Ricardo Nacimento (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits)

Midfielder of the Season

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young player of the season

Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Bongani Sam (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Gift Links (Cape Town City)

Players’ Player of the Season

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Season

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Micho Sredojevic (Orlando Pirates)

Benni McCarthy (Cape Town City)


Last man standing

Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City)

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)


Player of the Tournament

Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Mduduzi Mdantsane (Baroka FC)


Player of the Tournament

Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)

Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs)

Most promising player

Terrence Mashego (TS Galaxy)

Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya (Kaizer Chiefs)

Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

Multichoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament

Kamogelo Mahltsi

Sipho Chaine

Njabulo Blom

Diski Shield Player of the tournament

Lindani Ndelu (Golden Arrows)

Kamogelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport United)

Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)