Day 6 – Final Day of the Metropolitan U19 Premier Cup

Ajax Cape Town are the 2014 Metropolitan U-19 Premier Cup champions after beating Mamelodi Sundowns 1-0 in a thoroughly engrossing final at Erica Park in Belhar on Monday afternoon.

A stunning long range strike by winger Charlton Basson in the 8th minute proved decisive as the Young Urban Warriors secured their second successive title, and sixth overall, to draw level with Hellenic as the most prolific winners of the tournament. Sundowns battled manfully but the superbly marshalled Ajax side gave them no opening to get back on level terms and, in fact, were unfortunate not to have won by a wider margin.

A delighted Ajax skipper, Yagan Sasman said afterwards, “We are overwhelmed to win it. Although we were confident, we didn’t expect to win it but everybody worked so hard for each other and it worked out great for us, so I’m just so happy right now,” he said before rushing off to celebrate with his teammates.

Victorious coach, Maaher Davids was in equally high spirits afterwards, and had high praise for the foundations laid at the club. “This is a great achievement for the club and it shows that we have the best academy in the country, possibly even in Africa. We weren’t the favourites but we came in and proved everybody wrong,” he said. “This is always a great event for players to play in and I’d like to thank the organisers and sponsors, Metropolitan for making it happen, and to end up as champions is the cherry on top.”

“Congratulations to Ajax on their well-deserved victory. Once again, this tournament has raised the quality of youth football in South Africa and it is a source of great satisfaction to see our vision of making genuine progress reflected in the continued improvement in standards on the field of play, as well as in the administration and organisation that has enhanced the prestige and profile of the Metropolitan U-19 Premier Cup,” said Metropolitan brand executive, Belinda Faulkner.

The winners received a fabulous floating trophy which they can display in their cabinet for the next year, plus a cheque for R35000. The runners up received R20000 for their valiant effort in making the final a spectacle to remember.

During the morning, the Plate section Final was won by Senoane Gunners, who beat Harmony Academy 1-0 and in the Mid-Section Final, Glendene United overcame Bidvest Wits by the same scorleine.

A number of awards were presented at the conclusion of proceedings in recognition of outstanding performances during the course of the competition.

Player of the Series: Sphelele Kwabesi (Sundowns) R3000 + keepsake trophy

Goalkeeper of the Series:  Mpho Mathega (Sundowns) R2000 + keepsake trophy

Top Goalscorer: Melcolm Meyer (Glendene Utd) – 7 goals – R2000 + keepsake trophy

Fastest Goal: Buti Mosekili (Harmony Academy) – 12 seconds – R1000 + keepsake trophy

First Hattrick: Thabang Namakotoane (Senoane Gunners) R1000 + keepsake trophy

Team of the Series: Old Mutual Academy R2000 + keepsake trophy

Coach of the Series: Rulani Mokoena (Sundowns) R2000 + trophy sponsored

Manager of the Series: Micha Guehring (ASD) R2000 + keepsake trophy

Referee of the Series: Lucky Mqolombeni R2000 + keepsake trophy

Most Promising Amateur Team: Beau West City R2250 + keepsake trophy

The following squad of Western Cape-based players was selected to participate in a tournament in China in August:


Bulelani Cola (Vasco Da Gama)

Shuaib Adams (Bayhill Utd)


Cheslin Carollisen (Ajax)

Rushine De Reuck (ASD)

Sinako Magadla (Bishop Lavis)

Byron Mckellar (Hellenic)

Riyaaz Ismail (Hellenic)

Adrian Jaftha (Morgenster)

Dean Kowalski (Santos)


Olwethu Nguye (Ajax)

Devon Wood (Beacon Spurs)

Aushron Kruger (Beau West City)

Fawaaz Basadien (Milano Utd)

Roberto Slater (Old Mutual Academy)

Anthony Gordinho (Ajax)


Fagrie Lakay (Santos)

Melcolm Meyer (Glendene)

Glen Hahn (Bellstar)

Manager: D. Solomons (Bayhill)

Coach: M. Fourie Old Mutual)