COPA Coca-Cola to host North West Provincial Finals

The COPA Coca-Cola U15 tournament will continue to unearth grassroots football talent this coming Saturday on the 11th August 2018 with the North West Province playing hosts to this prestigious COPA Coca-Cola Provincial Play Offs at the Alabama Stadium in Klerksdorp.

The 2018 edition of the global U15 School’s tournament kicked off in June in the Eastern Cape, where Malcomess Secondary School secured a spot in the National Finals. Ikeleletso Technical High, Kuyakhanya Primary School will represent the Northern Cape and Western Cape respectively.

Clapham High school defended their Gauteng title and secured their place at this previous weekend’s Gauteng play offs. The Gauteng team became the 4th team to qualify for this year’s COPA Coca-Cola National Finals set to take place between 26 and 29 September.

The city of Klerksdorp will be the next stop for the popular school’s tournament, with four confirmed schools from various North West regions battling it out to be crowned the rightful COPA Coca-Cola champions in the North West Province. The schools that will be participating in this weekend’s Provincial Final are Eletsa Secondary School, Sol Plaatjie High School, Seiphemelo Secondary and Gapalelwe Secondary School.

While the ultimate goal will be securing a place in the COPA Coca-Cola National Finals set to take place in Port Elizabeth, players can also look forward to this year’s life-changing scouting initiative called the COPA Coca Cola Future Stars search led by the tournaments ambassador and former Bafana Bafana player Jabu “Shuffle” Mahlangu.

Mahlangu will alongside a panel of scouting experts will identify the best performing players from each COPA Coca-Cola Provincial Play Offs. The selected players will form part of the COPA Coca-Cola Future Stars Camp to take place later this year at the High-Performance Centre in Pretoria.

The training camp will afford the selected players an opportunity to be exposed to the latest football training methods. The players will be assisted by a team of highly qualified sporting experts and will have an opportunity to play a number of friendly games against other junior academy clubs from various Premier Soccer League clubs.

“We have travelled to four different provinces so far and the talent displayed has been quite impressive. The youngsters are determined to do well for their schools and their communities, which resulted in highly competitive matches giving the talent scouts a good variety of players to select.

As we head to the North West province this weekend, we urge the community of Kleksdorp to come out in their numbers to support and enjoy good quality football from these upcoming soccer marvels.” said Mahlangu.

The President of the South African School’s Football Association (SASFA), Mr Mandla Mazibuko lauded the efforts of Coca-Cola for its sponsorship commitment through the COPA Coca-Cola U15 School’s tournament initiative and he went on to say “A nation that does not invest in its youth is a lost nation. It is on this basis that we continue to strive to uplift the standard of play by creating opportunities and inculcate self-confidence on and off the field of play Thanks to Coca-Cola for playing such an important role in football development”.” said Mazibuko.
With over 1.3 million teenagers from more than 60 countries taking part, COPA Coca-Cola is recognised globally as the leading grassroots football programme in the world. Youngsters and football supporters are urged to support their teams or follow the action on social media using #COPACocaCola for news updates and results.

COPA Coca-Cola Provincial Winners thus far:

Play Off Date Province Winning School
2 June Eastern Cape Malcomess Secondary School
21 July Northern Cape Ikekeletso Technical High School
28 July Western Cape Kuyakhanya Primary School
4 August Gauteng Clapham High School

COPA Coca-Cola Provincial Play Off Dates: 

11 August North West Alabama Stadium
18 August KwaZulu-Natal King Zwelithini Stadium
25 August Free State Bohlokong Stadium
1 September Limpopo Malamulele Stadium
8 September Mpumalanga Lynville Stadium
26–29 September Eastern Cape Wolfson Stadium (Port Elizabeth)