Bafana Bafana squad to face Brazil announced

Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund today announced a 23-man squad to take on 2014 FIFA World Cup hosts Brazil in an international friendly match scheduled for Wednesday, 5 March 2014.

The clash involving past World Cup hosts against the next hosts will take place at the home of South African football, FNB Stadium and will kick off at 19h00.

The squad has an average age of 24 years and the bulk is from the team that defeated World and European Champions Spain 1-0 at the same venue in November last year.

“It is not every day that one gets to play against five-time world champions. This is a great opportunity for us to continue from where we left off against Spain last year. We played Brazil in Sao Paolo and narrowly lost 1-0. They are the hosts of the 2014 World Cup, so they will definitely be taking this match seriously as you can see from the squad they have selected,” said Igesund.

“Ï also have a lot of confidence in the squad I have selected and I believe we will be very competitive on the night. This should be a very good challenge for the players.”

Tickets for this match are already on sale at Computicket, Shoprite, Checkers and Shoprite/Checkers stores countrywide.

They are going for R50 for the top tier; R200 for the middle tier and R100 for the bottom tier.

Brazil released a squad of 16 players based in Europe to take on Bafana Bafana. More players based in Brazil will be added to the squad in the coming days.

Full Bafana Bafana Squad:


Itumeleng KHUNE (C) (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen WILLIAMS (SuperSport United).


Thabo NTHETHE (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani KHUMALO (Doncaster Rovers), Buhle MKHWANAZI (University of Pretoria), Siyanda XULU (FC Rostov (Russia), Anele NGCONGCA (Racing Genk FC (Belgium), Thato MOKEKE (SuperSport United), Thabo MATLABA (Orlando Pirates).


Dean FURMAN (Doncaster Rovers FC (Eng), Kagisho DIKGACOI (Crystal Palace FC (Eng), Siphiwe TSHABALALA (Kaizer Chiefs), Daylon CLAASEN (Lech Poznan FC (Poland), Thulani SERERO (Ajax Amsterdam FC (Holland), Andile JALI (Oostende), Oupa MANYISA (Orlando Pirates), Ayanda PATOSI (Lokeren FC (Belgium), Lindokuhle MBATHA (Platinum Stars), Bongani ZUNGU (Mamelodi Sundowns), Hlompho KEKANA (Mamelodi Sundowns).


Bernard PARKER (Kaizer Chiefs), Tokelo RANTIE (Bournemouth FC (Eng), Dino NDLOVU (SuperSport United).