Amajimbos confident ahead of trip to Namibia

The South African National Under-17 side, Amajimbos are oozing confident ahead of their trip to Namibia for the Four-Nation tournament which commences this week.

Amajimbos held two training sessions for the first time under the watchful eye of coach Molefi Ntseki on Saturday morning and afternoon. They also played a friendly match against the SAFA Transent School of Excellence on Sunday morning.

“We have had a great weekend, where we have managed to analyse the team and got them to play as a unit. Many of the boys played in two tournaments prior to this camp, and have a few niggling injuries, however our medical team is working on this.

“We have also been working hard at getting the boys re-hydrated as the humidity and desert conditions in Namibia could pose a threat to the fitness levels of the squad,” said an upbeat Ntseki.

Junior national teams coach Ephraim “Shakes” Mashaba will serve as Technical Advisor to Amajimbos for this tournament and he also expressed confidence in the team.

“There are only two ways of playing football these philosophies will never change, a team must attack and defend. And the best way of attacking is scoring goals,” said Mashaba.

Amajimbos will travel to Swakopmund, Namibia on Monday 14 April 2014, to compete in a Four Nations Tournament. They will play against hosts Namibia, Ghana and an invitational German team (Westphalia).

South African Under-17 Squad

Player’s name Club
Walter Kubheka Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Sanele Tshabalala Bidvest Wits FC
Lebogang Shima Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Victor Mbatha Bidvest Wits FC
Luyanda Mdlalose Kaizer Chiefs FC
Notha Ncobo Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Christopher Mbele Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Itumeleng Shoba Bidvest Wits FC
Thendo Mukumela Ngwenani Chiefs (Limpopo)
Lethabo Mashifane Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Nicholas Ladeira Bidvest Wits FC
Reeve Frosler Bidvest Wits FC
Buhle Mfondololo Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Felix Noge Harmony Academy (Free State)
Maleboge Modise Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Katlego Mashego Kaizer Chiefs FC
Thulani Cele Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Avuyile Mkhundla Mamelodi Sundowns FC
Shungu Ditiro Bidvest Wits FC
Romario Morris Titanic FC (KZN)